Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Ford’s dominant run at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park

The Blue Oval’s recent run at the newly named Shell V-Power Motorsport Park is enviable since the facility was opened and the Repco Supercars Championship debuted there in 2018.

Holden and Triple Eight Race Engineering clean-swept the maiden round in 2018 as Jamie Whincup took both poles, while splitting the two race wins with teammate Shane van Gisbergen.

Since then, Ford has taken 13 poles from a possible 14 including an active streak of 11 in a row led by current IndyCar racer Scott McLaughlin as he achieved five. His Shell V-Power Racing Team replacement Anton De Pasquale has taken two alongside Monster Energy Racing’s Cam Waters, leaving Andre Heimgartner when at Kelly Racing and Tickford Wildcard Zak Best, who took a surprise pole last year.

Ford race victories are at 10 from 14 events as McLaughlin once again leads the statistics in this with five as Waters has two leaving Heimgartner, De Pasquale and Fabian Coulthard with one each.

McLaughlin also holds the qualifying lap record at a 1m 47.495s from 2019.

In terms of podiums, Ford drivers have achieved 26 podiums from a possible 48 at 54%.

Although there has been a parity battle this season as Ford’s new Gen3 Mustang has made many changes to the aerodynamics and engine, will the Blue Oval’s strong performances at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park continue?

Improved runs from Tickford Racing, Shell V-Power Racing Team and Walkinshaw Andretti United in recent times hint at a upward turn of performance run in South Australia.