Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Le Mans joy for Ferrari as it achieves 90 year first

Ferrari not only went back-to-back at Le Mans, but achieved an 90 year motorsport first.

The Repco Garage recently told the story of the Triple Crown of Motorsport awarded to the winner of 24 Hours of Le Mans, Indianapolis 500 and Monaco Grand Prix, with British racing legend Graham Hill the only driver to achieve this feat.

However, Ferrari has achieved success in two events this year repeating what fellow Italian manufacturer Alfa Romeo had achieved in 1934.

In 2024, Charles Leclerc took an emotional home victory in the Monaco Grand Prix  for Ferrari last month, while Miguel Molina, Antonio Fuoco and Nicklas Nielsen took the marque’s second win in a row at La Sarthe.

Alfa Romeo was a powerhouse during the 1920s, 1930s, 1940s and 1950s in terms of motorsport. Star driver Tazio Nuvolari was the first driver to win at Le Mans and Monaco achieved in 1933, but the next year Alfa Romeo became the first to do it in the same season.

A privately entered Alfa Romeo 8C-2300 MM-LM driven by owner Luigi Chinetti and Philippe Etancelin took victory in the 1934 24 Hours of Le Mans.

This matched the success of Algerian Guy Moll at Monaco as he led an Alfa Romeo Tipo B/P3 1-2 in the principality.

Can Ferrari repeat the achievement in 2025?