Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Polesitter leads the morning warm up

Championship leader Brodie Kostecki has paced the traditional morning warm up in what has been a regular feature of the Repco Bathurst 1000 event since 1988.

A couple of teams endured a difficult 20-minute session prior to the Great Race, with Kostecki setting a 2m 06.358s time in his Coca-Cola Racing by Erebus Camaro he’ll drive alongside David Russell to lead fellow front-row starters Broc Feeney and Jamie Whincup in the Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Camaro by just 0.090s.

Andre Heimgartner and Dale Wood in the R&J Batteries were third ahead of the first Penrite Racing Ford Mustang to be shared by 2017 Bathurst winner David Reynolds and five-time victor Garth Tander.

Scott Pye was fifth in the Toyota Forklifts Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 to be shared with Warren Luff, while Cam Waters in the Monster Energy Racing Ford Mustang was 0.555s behind Kostecki’s time as James Moffat will be his co-driver.

Thomas Randle and Garry Jacobson shared the Castrol Racing Mustang to seventh, Nick Percat was eighth in the Mobil 1 NTI Racing Ford to be driven with Fabian Coulthard, while Shane van Gisbergen was ninth to be partnered by Richie Stanaway driving the Red Bull Ampol Racing Camaro.

Rounding out the top 10 was the Middy’s Racing Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 of Bryce Fullwood and Dean Fiore.

Those hampered during preparations included the Shell V-Power Racing Team Mustang to be driven by Anton De Pasquale and Tony D’Alberto following a problem emerged after a brake change.

Mark Winterbottom and Michael Caruso’s DEWALT Racing entry also had limited running due to a set-up change.

The Repco Bathurst 1000 will start at 11:15am AEDT.