Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Shane van Gisbergen gives Holden the perfect send off

Red Bull Ampol Racing Team’s Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander have given Holden the perfect send off at Mount Panorama to take a thrilling Repco Bathurst 1000 victory.

In a thrilling conclusion, van Gisbergen rebuffed the advances of Walkinshaw Andretti United driver Chaz Mostert to take his second for the partnership after tasting success in 2020, which was the final for a factory Holden operation.

It was a sea of red fans rejoicing for the final time, with the Chevrolet Camaro set to take over from the ZB Commodore for the Gen3 era next year.

“It was awesome,” van Gisbergen said on the podium.

“Compared to 2020, to have all the people here, and in this weather, thank you guys so much.

“To send Holden out like this is epic… up the Holden!

“It’s a special way to send it out.

“Hopefully we can add a few more wins to the Commodore.”

Van Gisbergen celebrated in style with burnouts after the race started of chaotically when opening lap contact between Tony D’Alberto, Jack Perkins, Zak Best and Jamie Whincup among others on Mountain Straight resulted in damage.

When the race restarted, there was further contact at The Chase after Zane Goddard locked a brake resulting in the Snowy River Racing Mustang sliding through the grass, as he re-joined colliding heavily with Dale Wood and Matt Campbell leading all to retire.

Lee Holdsworth led the way early, but Tander and van Gisbergen soon took control, but pressure came from Mostert in addition to Cameron Waters and Brodie Kostecki.

Others contenders including Will Davison also struck trouble, ending his race in the Griffins Bend tyre wall.

Completing the podium was Mostert/Fabian Coulthard and Waters/James Moffat, who recovered from a spin caused by contact with Kostecki at The Cutting.

Kostecki/David Russell just failed to replicate their podium result from last year in fourth from Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup, Holdsworth/Matt Payne, Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto, Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser, Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore and Brown/Perkins rounded out the top 10.

Gold Coast is up next for the Repco Supercars Championship on October 28-30.