Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Shane van Gisbergen takes ninth win of the season in Race 14

A race defining pass by Shane van Gisbergen just after Cameron Waters’ pit stop has given the Kiwi Race 14 victory at Winton.

Waters in the Monster Energy Racing Ford Mustang started from pole and held the lead through the race’s opening stanza, however van Gisbergen made a daring pass after the leader had completed his pit stop at Turn 3 form which he dominated the race from there.

Kelly Grove Racing’s David Reynolds scored another podium after a late-race charge as teammate Lee Holdsworth followed him in fourth ahead of Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Chaz Mostert.

Despite an early pit stop, Will Brown held on in his Boost Mobile Racing ZB Commodore to finish sixth just ahead of Brad Jones Racing’s Andre Heimgartner.

Waters led from the start and extended his lead to 1s as van Gisbergen led an angry train of Supercars until he pitted on lap 15. A lap later Waters did likewise, but was under pressure immediately as he held on through Turns 1 and 2, but the next corner he half-blocked van Gisbergen, which wasn’t enough as the Kiwi dived through.

Van Gisbergen continued to extend his lead to win by 5.298s.

Behind Heimgartner, James Courtney was eighth in his Tickford Racing Ford Mustang and Anton De Pasquale was 10th for Shell V-Power Racing.

Boost Mobile Racing’s Brodie Kostecki and Broc Feeney in the Red Bull Ampol Racing ZB Commodore engaged in an entertaining battle for 11th, won by the former.

De Pasquale’s teammate Will Davison led a trio of drivers struggling this weekend in 14th, with Tim Slade and Nick Percat in arrears.

A gearbox temperature problem for Garry Jacobson and another power steering fault for Scott Pye resulted in both failing to finish.

This afternoon’s final event at Winton, Race 15 is scheduled to begin at 3:35pm AEST.