Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Shell V-Power Racing Team lead the way at Pukekohe

It was a 1-2 result for the Shell V-Power Racing Team to kick off the farewell event for Pukekohe Park Raceway at the end of opening practice.

In the sole session for the Repco Supercars Championship competitors on Friday, Anton De Pasquale finished the session on top with a 1m 02.206s to be 0.249s clear of teammate Will Davison as lead New Zealander Andre Heimgartner was third.

Holding a 500-point lead atop of the standings, Shane van Gisbergen was fourth on a 1m 02.593s as title rival Cameron Waters rounded out the top five.

In a good sign for Walkinshaw Andretti United, Chaz Mostert and Nick Percat finished the session closely matched, as behind the duo Macauley Jones was eighth ahead of the retiring Lee Holdsworth and Jack Le Brocq.

Waters was the first to come unstuck at Pukekohe Park by hitting the tyre wall at the Turn 3-4 sequence, but recovered.

Van Gisbergen also went off at the iconic Pukekohe hairpin, while Tradie Racing’s Jake Kostecki went off there also, but this was after catching grass at the final corner.

At the top of the timesheets, Heimgartner held sway until the final set of runs where De Pasquale eclipsed the local’s time before Davison split the pair.

Round 10 of the Repco Supercars Championship continues with second practice at 11:35am (9:35am AEST) before qualifying and the opening race tomorrow.