Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Who’s got the form at Albert Park?

The Rolex Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix always provides action when it comes to the Repco Supercars Championship whether it be its early iterations as a non-points paying round or currently as part of the series.

Touring cars have been part of the support program since the first Australian Grand Prix in Adelaide back in 1985 as eight years later the V8-based formula took over with Wayne Gardner securing victory for the Holden Racing Team.

This continued when the Grand Prix moved to Albert Park in 1996, with the Supercars missing just one year in 2007 as it continued to provide spectacular racing just like in Adelaide.

This weekend, the Repco Supercars Championship will feature a quick fire format across the four day event. Thursday provides the busiest day for the Supercars drivers as a pair of practice sessions, two-segments of qualifying and the opening race of four, which are split across the weekend.

At the maiden event in 1996, Glenn Seton and Peter Brock split the wins marking their sole victories at Albert Park as unlike Adelaide, the Melbourne track proved a happy hunting ground for the lion.

Russell Ingall dominated the meeting with seven victories in a row during 1997-1998, but he is not the most successful at Albert Park in a Supercar.

This honour goes to reigning champion Shane van Gisbergen as he aims to add to his eight victories already accumulated, but he is not the only current driver on the grid to achieve great success.

Mark Winterbottom is level on seven victories with Ingall alongside Garth Tander and IndyCar’s Scott McLaughlin.

Next of the current drivers was last year’s dual victor Chaz Mostert on three behind such illustrious names as Craig Lowndes, Mark Skaife, Jamie Whincup and Fabian Coulthard.

Scott Pye, David Reynolds and James Courtney are the remaining three drivers currently on the grid to have taken victory, holding one a piece.

Greg Murphy, Jason Bright, Todd Kelly, Steve Richards and John Bowe also greeted the flag at Albert Park.

This weekend obviously marks the first appearance of Gen3 at the recently updated Albert Park providing a faster average speed and will be a better judge of the improvements made in the new regulation set compared to Newcastle.