Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Will Brown takes thrilling maiden win, as Anton De Pasquale adds another victory

Erebus Motorsport’s Will Brown has held off Red Bull Ampol Racing pair Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen to take his maiden win at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Brown emerged victorious after a dramatic duel between the Red Bull Ampol Racing drivers with van Gisbergen sent onto the dirt exiting Turn 3 among some of the wilder moments.

Earlier in the day, Anton De Pasquale continued his winning ways to dominate Race 27 from pole position.

De Pasquale shared the front row with Shell V-Power Racing teammate Will Davison, while Whincup and Brown sat on the second row.

Mark Winterbottom, Chaz Mostert, Scott Pye, van Gisbergen, Brodie Kostecki and Nick Percat completed the top 10 in qualifying.

Van Gisbergen took a grid penalty for impeding Jack Le Brocq during Race 27 Qualifying and Tickford Racing’s Cam Waters experienced further troubles after his crew discovered further damage from yesterday’s incident prior to the session.

It was a Red Bull Ampol Racing front-row lockout for Race 28 ahead of De Pasquale, Brown, Mostert, Waters, Kostecki, Percat, Pye and Le Brocq.

The Shell V-Power Racing pair went side-by-side through Turn 1 and it was Davison in the lead once the pair had completed their pit stops.

Tyre woes started to play out and decided the podium with Davison losing out significantly after De Pasquale passed him for the lead at Turn 2 halfway through the race.

Whincup was next to go through after a close battle, then Mostert and finally van Gisbergen, who pipped the Walkinshaw Andretti United driver on the line for third as De Pasquale took another win.

Behind the top five, Winterbottom led Percat, Brown, Kostecki and Hazelwood.

Both Red Bull Ampol Racing Commodores started well, as did Brown to cover De Pasquale into Turn 1 to slot into third.

Although rain threatened to hit the circuit, it failed to come to fruition as after the pit stops Brown was in the lead from Mostert and Whincup, however tyre degradation began to show.

Van Gisbergen had work to do, but passed De Pasquale and Mostert to range up onto the rear of his teammate leading to a spectacular battle.

Many moments ensued, but it was Whincup who held on as Brown gapped the pair.

It proved a race deciding battle as Brown was able to hold on, despite the pair closing in with three laps remaining.

Behind the top three Percat and Hazelwood continued Brad Jones Racing’s strong results, while Pye, Waters, Mostert, De Pasquale and Le Brocq completed the top 10.

Next weekend’s action is two 250km races at Sydney Motorsport Park, the penultimate round of the Repco Supercars Championship.